top of page

MWCEA is grateful for the knowledge and experience of its dedicated team of advisors.


President: Edward W. Goldsmith, Esq., Maryland Subsequent Injury Fund 

1st Vice President: Michael H. Daney, Esq. At-Large 2016 

2nd Vice President & Program Planning Chair: Barry D. Bernstein, Esq. At-Large 2015

Treasurer: Angela G. Kozlowski, Esq., Baltimore City Bar Association 

Past President: Matthew J. Peffer, Esq., Maryland Association for Justice, Inc.



Lissa H. Bales, Maryland Chamber of Commerce

Eric Buchner, MD, Medical and Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland

Matt Drzik, At-Large 2017

Shelby Dubato, Chesapeake Association of Rehabilitation Professionals in the Private Sector (CARPPS)

Fatima Garland, Maryland State Bar Association

Matthew Gordon, Esq., At-Large 2018

J. Michael Harrison, Esq., Uninsured Employers' Fund

Jermaine Jones, Metropolitan Baltimore Council AFL-CIO Unions

Brian Katzenberg, Esq., At-Large 2017

Angela Kozlowski, Esq., Baltimore City Bar Association

Lyndsey Meninger, Esq., Chesapeake Employers' Insurance Company

Luz Neighoff, Baltimore Claims Association

Eric Schmidt, M.A., CPWIC Division of Rehabilitation Services (DORS)

Ashlee K. Smith, Esq., Workers' Compensation Defense Bar and the Maryland Defense Counsel

Erin Thorne, At-Large 2017

Honorable Maureen Quinn, Workers' Compensation Commission Chairman (Honorary Appointment)

Judge's Gavel on Books

2003  Barry M. Chasen, Esq.

2002  Mark Hackman, Esq.

2001  Jack Ulrich, Esq.

2000  Paul Rose

1999  Jayne Gresch

1998  Robert Erlandson, Esq.

1997  Quinten Davis

1996  Woods Bennett, Esq.

1995  Charles Nolte

1994  Jeff Horowitz, Esq.

1993  Rudy Rose, Esq.

1992  Jim Fitzpatrick

1991  Edward Schaffer

1990  The Honorable Jeffrey Weinberg, Esq.

1989  The Honorable Jeffrey Weinberg, Esq.

1988  Edward Petrick

1987  Mark Vincent, Esq.

1986  Joseph B. Harlan, Esq.

1985  Bruce Ingerman, Esq.

1984  Charles J. Krysiak, Esq. - Founder


2023  Matthew J. Peffer, Esq.

2022  Frank Lipshultz, Esq.

2021  Frank Lipshultz, Esq.

2020  Frank Lipshultz, Esq.

2019  Dr. Lynn Staggs, MD

2018  Michael Schaffer

2017  Dr. Charles Thorne, D.C.

2016  Alex Katzenberg, Esq.

2015  Maija Jackson, Esq.

2014  Heather Kraus, Esq.

2013  Edgar Dodd

2012  Benjamin T. Boscolo, Esq.

2011  Jody Malcolm

2010  Joe Jagielski, Esq.

2009  Scott Brown, M.D.

2008  Nancy Harrison, Esq.

2007  Patrick Roberson, Esq.

2006  Mark Snyder, Esq.

2005  Stan Haynes, Esq.

2004  Lynne Levin

2024 Maryland General Assembly Joint Committee on Workers'

Compensation Benefit and Insurance Oversight

Appointed jointly by Senate President & House Speaker

Senator Katherine A. Klausmeier

Senate Chair
James Senate Office Building, Room 123 
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes
House Chair
Lowe House Office Building, Room 313
6 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401


Appointed by Senate President

Senator Pamela G. Beidle
Miller Senate Office Building, Room 2 West
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401 

Appointed by House Speaker

One Vacancy


Appointed by Senate President & House Speaker

Representative of Maryland Business Community

Ms. Mary Anne Reuschling
TransCon CSI
1509 West Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

Representative of the Maryland Labor Organization

Hank Sorenson
Northeast Regional Council of Carpenters (NRCC)
Local 177 Council Representative

Representative of Maryland Building and Construction Labor Organization

Tom P. Hayes
CHOICE - Community Hub for Opportunities in Construction Employment
Baltimore Area Representative
815 16th Street, NW
6th Floor
Washington, DC 20006

Two Members of the Public

Mr. Michael G. Comeau, Esquire
3509 Glen Oak Drive
Jarrettsville, MD 21084Debora Fajer-Smith, Esquire
6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400
Greenbelt, MD 20770

Member of Insurance Industry

Thomas J. Phelan
Chesapeake Employers' Insurance Company
8722 Loch Raven Boulevard
Towson, MD 21286

Member of a Workers' Compensation Rating Organization

David Benedict
National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI)
State Relations Executive, Mid-Atlantic Region

Member of Medical and Chirurgical Faculty of Maryland

Gary W. Pushkin, M.D.
2506 Saint Paul Street
Baltimore, MD 21218

Members of the Bar

Mr. Rudolph L. Rose, Esquire
Defense Lawyer
25 South Charles Street, Suite 1400
Baltimore, MD 21201Mr. P. Matthew Darby, Esquire
Plaintiff Lawyer
32 West Road, Suite 210
Towson, MD 21204

Maryland Certified Rehabilitation Service Provider

Jody Malcolm
MalcolmDubato, LLC
Founding Member
11025 Stratfield Court
Marriottsville, MD 21104

Self-Insured Local Government Entity (per Chapter 5 of 2011)

Mr. Ronald J. Travers
Anne Arundel County Office of Law
Assistant County Attorney
2660 Riva Road
Annapolis, MD 21401

Workers' Compensation Commissioner - Ex-officio

Commissioner Maureen E. Quinn
Workers' Compensation Commission
10 East Baltimore Street
Baltimore MD 21202


Committee Staff

Nathan McCurdyRyan Hollen and Erica White
Department of Legislative Services
Legislative Services Building
90 State Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: 410.946.5530, 301.970.5510, 1.800.492.7122 ext. 5530 (toll free)

Let’s Work Together

Sign up for MWCEA notifications.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page